Performance of Air Taxis – Justified Criticism or Greater Potential?

by Simon Eck, 18.01.2024

Performance of Air Taxis – Justified Criticism or Greater Potential?

by Simon Eck, 18.01.2024

Simon EckWorking Student

Email
LinkedIn

Performance of Air Taxis – Justified Criticism or Greater Potential?

January 18, 2024 | Simon Eck, Felix Meckenstock

The idea of simply flying to work or any destination in the future instead of taking a slow journey by car or bus in congested traffic is on many people’s minds. At the same time, the demand for sustainable and environmentally friendly means of transportation continues to grow. For these reasons, a number of companies around the world have set themselves the task of developing an electrically powered flying vehicle. These vertical take-off and landing eVTOLs (electric Vertical Take-Off and Landing) are about to be certified, according to manufacturers, and should be ready for the market in the next one to two years. However, there is already criticism and the question of whether the aircraft can actually deliver the desired and announced performance and thus provide added value compared to other means of transportation.

For this reason, we took a detailed look at the 16 models currently under development in order to obtain an estimate of their future performance. Using a self-developed calculation tool and publicly available or estimated data on the architecture of the aircraft, analyses were conducted in three dimensions. The main focus is on the differentiation between the three basic concepts of multicopter, lift & cruise and vectored thrust.

Dimension 1: Flight and hover times

The hover time is relevant for the safety of eVTOLs, as the aircraft must be able to hover for a sufficiently long time in the event that preparations have to be made during the take-off or landing phase or other incidents occur that force the aircraft to hover. Multicopters impress with their long hover times. Their architecture enables hovering and vertical flights in particular, making them best suited for flight missions with a large proportion of steep flights. Lift & Cruise and Vectored Thrust have good hover times of between 10 and 20 minutes. Only the Lilium Jet has a hover time of just over 3 minutes due to its special architecture, which could endanger some flight missions.

In terms of travel times, Vectored Thrust convinces with its high travel speed. For a 30 km flight, a travel time of 9-10 minutes was calculated in the calculation model. Lift & Cruise travel slightly slower, resulting in an average travel time of 11-16 minutes for the same 30 km flight. Multicopters fly significantly slower, resulting in a calculated travel time of 19-22 minutes. Nevertheless, they are still faster than conventional means of transport. For cars and public transport, times of 45 (car) and 85 (PT) minutes on average were calculated for the pure distance over 6 major cities worldwide.

Dimension 2: Range

The achievable range is of decisive importance for the operator of an air taxi operation, as this influences which flight missions can be flown. Vectored Thrust achieve the greatest range of 200 to 280 km. Once again, the Lilium Jet is an exception here, as it consumes a significant amount of energy during the take-off phase. A range of 150 to 180 km was calculated for Lift & Cruise, which means that, as with Vectored Thrust, a large number of different flight missions such as transfers between several cities can be flown. Multicopters, on the other hand, have a maximum range of 40 km, making them only suitable for flights within a city or region.

When designing an eVTOL, the aim is not only to fly a long range but also to conserve resources. It is therefore also desirable to use as little battery mass as possible for a good range. In order to classify which aircraft achieves the best use of the available battery, we divide the passenger-km in the maximum range by the battery weight. The figure represents how far a person can fly with one kg of battery mass and is an indication of the efficiency of the eVTOL. The evaluation shows that the combination of primarily low weight and secondly good flight characteristics leads to satisfactory results. Here, too, the current multicopter models are at the bottom of the rankings, as they have as already mentioned a short range and above all a small number of passengers. They can carry one or, in autonomous flight, a maximum of two people, while the other models can usually transport 4 to 6 people. When fully occupied, the other models are therefore significantly more efficient.

As the specific energy density of the batteries increases, the range also increases due to the greater amount of energy. It can be seen that the range increases over-proportionally. With a tripling of the specific energy density (at pack level), an average increase in range of 3.2 times could be calculated. The Lilium Jet has the greatest potential here. The longer the journey, the smaller the percentage of the take-off and landing phase. Once the Lilium Jet is in the air, it can achieve long ranges thanks to its good flight characteristics. Therefore, an improvement in battery technology has a significant impact on the range and will lead to many more possible applications.

Dimension 3: Energy consumption

In order to create a sustainable and environmentally friendly means of transportation and to be competitive with alternatives, energy consumption must be kept low. For this reason, the energy consumption was calculated for each eVTOL for different distances. It is noticeable that for each eVTOL the average consumption per passenger-km is higher for shorter flights than for longer ones. This is due to the fact that the phases of vertical take-off and landing, during which consumption is particularly high, account for an increasingly smaller proportion of the total flight the longer the flight lasts.

For a comparison between the eVTOLs, but also to compare consumption with other means of transportation, the case of a 30 km flight is examined once more. First of all, it should be noted that all eVTOLs have better energy consumption than helicopters when fully occupied. They are therefore better alternatives from a purely ecological point of view and could take over flights from helicopters. It can also be seen that multicopters and particularly heavy eVTOLs need a lot of energy. Otherwise, it is surprising that most eVTOLs are competitive in terms of consumption. They have a lower level of consumption than conventional cars with a single occupant or, in some cases, even compared to buses. Of course, it has to be said that the electrified versions of buses and cars still have advantages over eVTOLs, especially when they are fully occupied. However, if a person traveling alone uses a fully occupied air taxi instead of a fossil-fueled cab, the energy consumption can be significantly lower.

Summary

After considering the three dimensions, there are several conclusions to be drawn.

  • Vectored Thrust models are powerful eVTOLs with the longest range and the potential for low consumption as long as the weight is kept low. They can be a good addition to existing offerings, especially for long distances.
  • Lift & Cruise models are characterized as versatile all-rounders. They can be used at both short and medium distances and have the lowest consumption while keeping the weight low.
  • Multicopters appear to be facing challenges that could endanger their long-term competitiveness due to their inadequate performance and significantly higher energy consumption. However, they could be suitable for flights with a high vertical and hovering component.

Choosing the right basic concept is therefore of crucial importance when planning the development of an air taxi operation.

The further development of battery performance plays a decisive role and offers the greatest potential for increasing the maximum range. Overall, the weight of the eVTOL should be low in relation to the number of passengers to be transported and the flight characteristics should be high in order to achieve low consumption and a long range.

Compared to other means of transportation, eVTOLs can impress with their ability to cover distances quickly and their in some cases comparable energy consumption, making them a competitive option.

With the right model and concept, the dream of an air cab is still possible, at least in terms of performance. It remains exciting to see how certification will proceed and how battery technology will develop.

We at P3 are happy to provide support in these topics. Please feel free to contact us.

Tags:

Your contact people

Tobias Breithaupt Partner

Email
Phone
LinkedIn

Simon EckWorking Student

Email
LinkedIn

Performance von Flugtaxis – berechtigte Kritik oder größeres Potential?

by Simon Eck, 18.01.2024

Performance von Flugtaxis – berechtigte Kritik oder größeres Potential?

by Simon Eck, 18.01.2024

Simon EckWorking Student

E-Mail
LinkedIn

Performance von Flugtaxis – berechtigte Kritik oder größeres Potential?

18. Januar, 2024 | Simon Eck, Felix Meckenstock

Die Vorstellung in Zukunft zum Job oder jedem Reiseziel einfach zu fliegen, anstatt im zugestopften Verkehr gemächlich mit dem Auto oder dem Bus zu fahren, steckt in so manchem Kopf. Gleichzeitig nimmt die Nachfrage nach nachhaltigen und umweltfreundlichen Verkehrsmitteln immer weiter zu. Aus diesen Gründen haben sich weltweit einige Unternehmen an die Aufgabe gemacht, ein elektrisch betriebenes Flugobjekt zu entwickeln. Diese senkrechtstartenden eVTOL (electric Vertical Take-Off and Landing) stehen laut Entwicklern kurz vor der Zertifizierung und sollen in den kommenden ein bis zwei Jahren marktreif sein. Doch bereits jetzt gibt es Kritik und die Frage, ob die Fluggeräte die gewünschte und angekündigte Leistung tatsächlich bringen können und somit einen Mehrwert gegenüber anderen Verkehrsmitteln liefern.

Aus diesem Grund haben wir uns die 16 in der Entwicklung führenden Modelle im Detail angeschaut, um eine Abschätzung über die spätere Leistungsfähigkeit zu erhalten. Mittels eines selbst entwickelten Berechnungstools und der Nutzung öffentlich zugängliche oder abgeschätzten Daten über die Architektur der Fluggeräte wurden Analysen in drei Dimensionen vorgenommen. Hauptaugenmerk legen wir auf die Unterscheidung zwischen den drei Grundkonzepten Multicopter, Lift & Cruise und Vectored Thrust.

Dimension 1: Flug- und Schwebezeiten

Die Schwebezeit ist für die Sicherheit von eVTOLs relevant, da das Fluggerät in der Lage sein muss, ausreichend lange in der Schwebe zu verweilen, falls in der Start- oder Landephase Vorbereitungen durchgeführt werden müssen oder sonstige Vorkommnisse auftreten, die das Fluggerät zu einem Schwebeflug zwingen. Multicopter überzeugen mit langen Schwebezeiten. Ihre Architektur ermöglicht besonders Schwebe- und vertikale Flüge, wodurch sie am besten für Flugmissionen mit großen Anteilen an Vertikalflügen geeignet sind. Lift & Cruise sowie Vectored Thrust haben gute Schwebezeiten zwischen 10 und 20 Minuten. Einzig der Lilium Jet hat durch seine besondere Architektur eine Schwebezeit von nur etwas über 3 Minuten, wodurch manche Flugmission durchaus gefährdet sein könnten.

Bei den Reisezeiten überzeugen Vectored Thrust durch ihre hohe Reisegeschwindigkeit. Für einen 30 km Flug wurde im Berechnungsmodell eine Reisezeit von 9-10 Minuten errechnet. Lift & Cruise reisen etwas langsamer, wodurch auch eine mittlere Reisezeit von 11-16 Minuten für den gleichen 30 km Flug berechnet wurde. Multicopter fliegen deutlich langsamer, wodurch eine Reisezeit von 19-22 Minuten berechnet wurde. Trotzdem sind sie damit aber immer noch schneller als konventionelle Verkehrsmittel. Für Autos bzw. den öffentlichen Verkehr wurden für die reine Distanzüberwindung über 6 Großstädte weltweit hinweg Zeiten von durchschnittlich 45 (Auto) bzw. 85 (ÖV) Minuten ermittelt.

Dimension 2: Reichweite

Die erzielbare Reichweite ist für den Betreiber eines Flugtaxibetriebs von entscheidender Bedeutung, da diese beeinflusst, welche Flugmissionen geflogen werden können. Vectored Thrust erreichen die größte Reichweite mit 200 bis 280 km. Eine Ausnahme bildet auch hier wiederum der Lilium Jet, der durch einen hohen Verbrauch in der Startphase aufweist und dabei einen nicht unwesentlichen Anteil seiner verfügbaren Energiemenge verbrauchen. Für Lift & Cruise wurde eine Reichweite von 150 bis 180 km errechnet, wodurch wie bei Vectored Thrust eine große Menge unterschiedlicher Flugmissionen wie beispielsweise der Transfer zwischen mehreren Städten geflogen werden können. Multicopter kommen dagegen auf maximal 40 km, wodurch sie aus Sicht der Reichweite nur für Flüge innerhalb einer Stadt oder Region geeignet sind.

Bei der Konstruktion eines eVTOLs ist es das Ziel, neben einer großen Reichweite ressourcenschonend zu fliegen. So ist es auch bei den Batterien wünschenswert, möglichst wenig Batteriemasse bei guter Entfernung zu nutzen. Um eine Einordnung zu bekommen welches Fluggerät den besten Nutzen aus der zur Verfügung stehenden Batterie erzielt, teilen wir die Personen-km in der maximalen Reichweite durch das Batteriegewicht. Die Kennzahl stellt dar, wie weit eine Person mit einem kg Batteriemasse fliegen kann und ist ein Zeichen der Effizienz des eVTOL. Die Auswertung zeigt, dass die Kombination aus vor allem niedrigem Gewicht und zweitens guten Flugeigenschaften zu guten Ergebnissen kommt. Auch hier liegen die aktuellen Multicopter-Modelle im Ranking hinten, da sie eine wie bereits genannt geringe Reichweite und vor allem eine kleine Passagierzahl haben. Sie können eine bzw. im autonomen Flug maximal zwei Personen befördern, während die anderen Modelle meist 4 bis 6 Personen transportieren können. Bei voller Besetzung sind die anderen Modelle somit deutlich effizienter.

Mit steigender spezifischer Energiedichte der Batterien steigt durch die größere Energiemenge auch die Reichweite. Hier ist festzustellen, dass die Reichweite überproportional zunimmt. Bei einer Verdreifachung der spezifischen Energiedichte (auf Pack-Ebene) konnte eine durchschnittliche Steigerung der Reichweite des 3,2-fachen errechnet werden. Der Lilium Jet hat hierbei die größten Potentiale. Je länger die Reise ist, desto kleiner ist der prozentuale Anteil der Start- und Landephase. Ist der Lilium Jet erst einmal in der Luft, kann er durch die guten Flugeigenschaften auch große Reichweiten erreichen. Die Batterieentwicklung hat durch Verbesserungen der Technologie ein großes Potential, zur Erhöhung der Reichweite beizutragen.

Dimension 3: Energieverbrauch

Um ein nachhaltiges und umweltfreundliches Transportmittel zu erschaffen und um wettbewerbsfähig zu anderen Verkehrsmitteln zu sein, muss der Energieverbrauch niedrig sein. Aus diesem Grund wurde für jedes eVTOL für verschiedene Distanzen der jeweilige Verbrauch errechnet. Es fällt auf, dass bei jedem eVTOL der durchschnittliche Verbrauch pro Personen-km bei kürzeren Flügen höher ist als bei längeren. Das liegt daran, dass die Phasen des senkrechten Startens und Landens, und in denen der Verbrauch besonders hoch ist, einen immer kleineren Anteil am Gesamtflug ausmachen, je länger der Flug dauert.

Für einen Vergleich zwischen den eVTOLs, aber auch um den Verbrauch mit weiteren Transportmitteln zu vergleichen, wird wiederum der Fall eines 30 km Flugs betrachtet. Zunächst ist festzustellen, dass alle eVTOLs bei voller Besetzung einen besseren Verbrauch als Helikopter aufweisen. Somit sind sie aus rein ökologischer Sichtweise bessere Alternativen und könnten Flüge von Helikoptern übernehmen. Darüber hinaus ist zu erkennen, dass vor allem Multicopter sowie besonders schwere eVTOLs einen hohen Energieverbrauch haben. Ansonsten ist erstaunlich, dass die meisten eVTOLs aus Verbrauchssicht konkurrenzfähig sind. Sie haben einen geringeren Verbrauch als einfach besetzte klassische Autos oder teilweise auch gegenüber Bussen. Natürlich muss man sagen, dass die elektrifizierten Varianten von Bussen und Autos vor allem bei voller Besetzung dieser weiterhin Vorteile gegenüber eVTOLs haben. Nutzt man als allein reisende Person allerdings ein Flugtaxi, dass dann voll besetzt wird, anstatt beispielsweise eines fossil betriebenen Taxis, fällt der Energieverbrauch deutlich geringer aus.

Fazit

Nach Betrachtung der 3 Dimensionen sind einige Erkenntnisse festzuhalten.

  • Vectored Thrust-Modelle sind leistungsstarke eVTOLs mit der größten Reichweite und dem Potenzial für einen geringen Verbrauch, solange das Gewicht niedrig gehalten wird. Sie können vor allem bei langen Distanzen eine gute Ergänzung zu bestehenden Angeboten sein.
  • Lift & Cruise-Modelle zeichnen sich als vielseitige Allrounder aus. Sie sind sowohl auf kurzer als auch auf mittlere Entfernung einsetzbar und haben bei gering gehaltenem Gewicht den geringsten Verbrauch.
  • Multicopter scheinen vor Herausforderungen zu stehen, die ihre langfristige Wettbewerbsfähigkeit aufgrund ihrer unzureichenden Leistung und ihres erheblich höheren Energieverbrauchs gefährden könnten. Für Flüge mit großem vertikalen und Schwebeanteil könnten sie allerdings geeignet sein.

Die Auswahl des richtigen Grundkonzepts ist somit von entscheidender Bedeutung bei der Planung des Aufbaus eines Flugtaxibetriebs.

Die Weiterentwicklung der Batterieleistung spielt eine entscheidende Rolle und bietet das größte Potenzial zur Erhöhung der maximalen Reichweite. Insgesamt sollte das Gewicht des eVTOL im Verhältnis zur Anzahl an zu beförderten Personen niedrig und die Flugeigenschaften hoch sein, um einen niedrigen Verbrauch und eine große Reichweite zu erreichen.

Im Vergleich zu anderen Transportmitteln können eVTOLs durch die schnelle Überwindung von Distanzen und den dabei teilweise vergleichbaren Verbräuchen überzeugen und sind somit auch wettbewerbsfähig.

Mit dem richtigen Modell und Konzept ist der Traum vom Flugtaxi zumindest aus Betrachtung der Leistungsfähigkeit weiterhin möglich. Es bleibt dabei spannend, wie die Zertifizierung ablaufen und sich die Batterietechnologie entwickeln wird.

Gerne unterstützt P3 bei diesen Themen. Kommen Sie gerne auf uns zu.

Stichworte:

Ihre Ansprechpartner

Tobias Breithaupt Partner

E-Mail
Telefon
LinkedIn

Simon EckWorking Student

E-Mail
LinkedIn